The US women’s team, led by Ali Krieger and Heather O’Reilly, defeated the North Carolina Courage 6-3 to win the inaugural Women’s Soccer Tournament (TST) event and take home the $1 million prize.

The 7-on-7, winner-takes-all contest concluded Monday in Cary, North Carolina, with Talia Dellaperrotta scoring the winning goal to ignite wild celebrations.

In addition to Krieger and O’Reilly, the team included other former US Women’s National Team stars such as Lori Lindsay, Allie Long and Lori Lawson, while Carla Overbeck, Carli Lloyd, Michelle Akers and Mia Hamm all served as coaches with the team.

“Everyone, staff, players, we deserve it. Million dollars!” O’Reilly said at a rally after the win.

The winnings were split evenly among the group of 25 people, with each member receiving $40,000.

USA Women was defeated in their opening group stage match by Streetball FC Canada but won all of their remaining matches en route to the title.

The men’s competition was won by La Bombonera, who beat Nani FC (coached by the former Manchester United winger) 4-0 in the final.

TST will return at the end of May 2025 for its next edition.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here